Purdue’s Matt Ramos catches three-time champion wrestler Spencer Lee in a stunning upset

Associated Press4 minute chapter

Purdue’s Matt Ramos pinned Iowa’s Spencer Lee in a huge wrestle

Purdue’s Matt Ramos pulls off a upset by pinning triple champion Spencer Lee in the semifinals of the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships.

TULSA, Okla. – Purdue’s Matt Ramos pulled off one of the most spectacular upsets in NCAA Division I wrestling history, ending Iowa’s Spencer Lee’s pursuit of four national titles with a pin in the final seconds of their semifinal match Friday night.

Ramos, the No. 4 seed at 125 pounds, was knocked down with one second left in the third round to snap the nation’s longest winning streak at 58 fights.

Ramos had been vocal about his belief that he could beat Lee.

“I work really hard and I’m confident in what I believe in and being able to talk about it being there — I’m not trying to be arrogant or anything, but if I don’t get it out into the world, I don’t think it’s going to happen,” she said.

That leaves Cornell’s Yianni Diakomihali as the only wrestler still in contention for a fourth title on Saturday. He defeated Penn State’s Shayne Van Ness 8-3 in his semifinal match at 149 pounds. If Diakomihalis defeats Ohio State’s Sammy Sasso in the finals, he will become the fifth wrestler to win four Division I national championships.

Purdue’s Matt Ramos (left) on one of the biggest upsets in NCAA wrestling history: “It’s a dream come true for me.”Brett Rojo-USA TODAY Sports

Diakomihalis was well aware that Lee had lost before his semi-final.

“At that point it was like, ‘Wow, I didn’t know what to think,”’ Diakomihalis said. “I mean, he’s one of those guys who’s been very dominant — probably more dominant than me.”

Diakomihalis said he understands the pressure Lee faces.

“You must know him a little, right?” he said. “I’m kind of in a similar situation. The whole arena is waiting for you to lose. Maybe they’re not cheering for you, but secretly in the back of your head, the voice gets louder when the other guy is going. to score.”

Penn State is closing in on its 10th national championship in 12 years. The Nittany Lions have 116.5 points. Iowa is second with 77.5 points, followed by Cornell (64) and Ohio State (62).

But Ramos was the story of the night. He led Lee 4-1 at the end of the first period, but Lee scored a four-point near fall in the second period to take a 5-4 lead and set up the drama in the third period.

Ramos will face Princeton’s Pat Glory, who beat Nebraska’s Liam Cronin 8-2 in the other semifinal, for the championship on Saturday. Glory, the No. 2 seed, is undefeated.

“It’s a dream for me,” Ramos said. “The work is not done yet.”

Three Penn State wrestlers seeking their third national championships — Roman Bravo-Young at 133, Carter Starocci at 174 and Aaron Brooks at 184 — all advanced to the finals.

Bravo-Young had a two-point shutout during sudden victory against Arizona State’s Michael McGee. He now has the longest winning streak in the country, 56 games.

“It was a fun match there,” Bravo-Young said. “Found a way to get it done.”

Bravo-Young will face Cornell’s Vito Arujau, who defeated Oklahoma State’s Daton Fix, 11-3, in the second semifinal. Fix had lost three times in the final, but he was unbeaten and finished second.

Starocci beat Cornell’s Chris Foca in the semifinals and advanced to face Nebraska’s Mikey Labriola in the finals. Starocci defeated Labriola 6-1 in the Big Ten finals in a battle of unbeatens.

Third-seeded Brooks beat No. 2 Trent Hilday of North Carolina State 6-3 in the semifinals. He will face the top seed, Northern Iowa’s Parker Keckeisen, in the finals.

Penn State got a fourth finalist when freshman Levi Haines, the No. 2 seed, beat Nebraska’s Peyton Robb in the semifinals at 157. He will face North Carolina’s Austin O’Connor in the finals. The top seed remained unbeaten after beating Lehigh’s Josh Humphreys.

At 165, No. 1 seed David Carr defeated Princeton’s Quincy Monday 6-5 in the semifinals. Monday’s father is 1988 Olympic champion Kenny Monday.

Other No. 1s who advanced to the finals were Michigan’s Mason Parris 285, Pitt’s Nino Bonaccorsi 197 and Iowa’s Real Woods 141.

Leave a Comment